Is Plaxo Malware?

The IT Skeptic thinks so:

Who else thinks Plaxo is an unethically intrusive piece of malware?

Recently I started using this thing again after ripping it out years ago as a dangerously intrusive invasion of my privacy. Plaxo apologised back then for being worms.

It is no better now. As far as I am aware I gave no permission to Plaxo to upload my email contacts, nor to email them all inviting them to Plaxo. But it did. Including my dead father.

I don’t doubt that Plaxo has successfully socially engineered me into doing this and that they would be able to point to something I clicked to make it happen.

But guess how easy it is to unravel this stuff. not. Every single one of my Outlook contacts needs to be manually deleted, one by one.

I haven’t ever used Plaxo, so it could be that these complaints are unjustified. I did find it interesting that the one time I tried to look at the service it was forbidden by the BMC firewall.

I would be curious to hear from people that have had a positive experience using this service.

One response to “Is Plaxo Malware?

  1. So far it is 2 to 1 against in the comments šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

